What makes paper sustainable?

What makes paper sustainable?

Sustainability has become an important topic in the corporate world and many companies are already committed to minimizing their impact on the environment.

Through the exclusive use of sustainable materials in corporate communications, an important contribution is made to the protection of the environment and the conservation of resources.

How environmentally friendly or sustainable a paper actually is, depends on many different factors. Here we have compiled some interesting facts about sustainable papers.

In principle, paper is already a very environmentally friendly product, as it is made from renewable raw materials and has a second, third or fourth life after its use. If the paper ends up in our environment, which can be the case to a small extent, it is very quickly broken down again by enzymes into a nutrient for plants and does not harm the environment.

Why material use always makes sense and how waste paper becomes a valuable raw material, you can read here:

Environmental tolerance & energy efficiency

Environmental tolerance and energy efficiency play a major role in paper production. In addition to the raw materials used, the manufacturing process is crucial for sustainable paper production.

An important process material for paper production is the natural resource, water. We are constantly working on reducing the use of water. Through the treatment and reuse of surplus water in our modern facilities, significant resources can be saved. In addition, constant process monitoring by our highly trained employees and the use of advanced measuring systems ensure efficient and environmentally friendly water purification.

Our paper mill is directly connected to the CO2-neutral energy plants of the pulp mill in Lenzing, which means that by and large renewable energies are used. The small amount of external electrical power that we need comes from climate-neutral energy sources.

Material composition - 100% recycled paper

So we can leave the trees in the forest, or entrust them to furniture manufacturers and the building sector, we use 100% recovered paper for our recycled papers. We recycle the used paper that we buy, while maintaining the quality standards of the original material. This means in simple terms that the fibres of the original paper are used to produce equivalent products. The high-quality used office papers are not mixed with lower-quality grades, but they remain at their high level. An important aspect regarding sustainability in the use of recovered paper: the production of recycled paper requires considerably less water and energy than the production of virgin fibre paper. With us, paper remains paper.

Sustainable, appealing visual effect - recycled paper from Lenzing

Our papers combine sustainability with high quality and a special feel. We therefore proudly claim that our Lenzing paper is not only the best, but also the "whitest" recycled paper available on the market.

The lifespan of our sustainably produced recycled papers also speaks for itself: recycled papers have a shelf life of around 100 years.

Awarded with the "Blauer Engel"

The Blauer Engel is the first environmental label and was launched in 1978. Strict criteria are used to test and evaluate the sustainable production of recycled paper. The use of the label and the quality of the products are reviewed and re-assessed annually. Recycled paper that has been awarded the „Blauer Engel" eco-label guarantees consumers that they are buying a product made from 100 % recovered paper.

Sustainability Communication at Lenzing Papier

In a world profoundly influenced by environmental issues, embracing sustainability becomes an imperative component of the solution. As a manufacturer of premium recycled paper, we recognise our responsibility to effectively communicate our sustainability strategy and raise awareness regarding environmental concerns.

Read more »

We have been awarded

How we develop and manufacture products today shapes the world we will inhabit tomorrow. With this in mind, we at Lenzing Papier are working towards a sustainable future. The Cradle to Cradle product standard enables us and our customers to assess the positive impact of our products on the environment.

Read more »

Was macht ein Papier nachhaltig?

Was macht ein Papier nachhaltig?

Nachhaltigkeit ist in der Unternehmenswelt zu einem wichtigen Thema geworden und viele Unternehmen setzen sich bereits dafür ein, ihren Einfluss auf die Umwelt zu minimieren.

Durch die ausschließliche Verwendung von nachhaltigen Materialien in der Unternehmenskommunikation wird ein wichtiger Beitrag zum Schutz der Umwelt geleistet und Ressourcen geschont.

Wie umweltfreundlich oder nachhaltig ein Papier tatsächlich ist, hängt von vielen unterschiedlichen Faktoren ab. Hier haben wir Wissenswertes rund um das Thema nachhaltige Papiere zusammengestellt.

Grundsätzlich ist Papier bereits ein sehr umweltfreundliches Produkt, da es aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen hergestellt wird und nach seinem Gebrauch ein zweites, drittes oder viertes Leben hat. Sollte das Papier, was in geringem Ausmaß der Fall sein kann, in der Natur landen, wird  es durch Enzyme sehr rasch wieder zu einem Nährstoff für Pflanzen abgebaut und schadet der Umwelt nicht.

Warum die stoffliche Nutzung immer sinnvoll ist und Altpapier zu wertvollem Rohstoff wird, lesen Sie hier:

Umweltverträglichkeit & Energieeffizienz

Bei der Papierproduktion spielen Umweltverträglichkeit und Energieeffizienz eine große Rolle. Neben den eingesetzten Rohstoffen ist der Herstellungsprozess ausschlaggebend für nachhaltige Papierproduktion.

Ein wichtiges Prozessmaterial für die Papierherstellung stellt der Rohstoff Wasser dar. Wir sind ständig mit der Reduktion des Wassereinsatzes beschäftigt. Durch die Aufbereitung und Wiederverwendung von anfallenden Wasserüberschüssen in unseren modernen Anlagen können bedeutende Ressourcen eingespart werden. Zudem gewährleisten die ständige Prozessüberwachung durch unsere bestens ausgebildeten Mitarbeiter:innen und der Einsatz fortschrittlicher Messsysteme eine effiziente und umweltfreundliche Wasserreinigung.

Unsere Papierfabrik ist direkt an die CO2-neutralen Energieanlagen der Zellstofffabrik in Lenzing angeschlossen, wodurch weitgehend erneuerbare Energien eingesetzt werden können. Der geringe Anteil an Fremdstrom, den wir benötigen, stammt aus klimaneutralen Energiequellen.

Materialzusammensetzung – 100 % Recyclingpapier

Um die Bäume im Wald stehen zu lassen, beziehungsweise sie der Möbel- und Häuserproduktion überlassen zu können, setzen wir bei unseren Recyclingpapieren 100 % Altpapier ein. Wir bereiten gebrauchtes Papier, das wir einkaufen, unter Beibehaltung der Qualitätsstandards des Ausgangsmaterials wieder auf. Das heißt im Klartext, dass aus den Fasern des ursprünglichen Papiers wieder  gleichwertige Produkte hergestellt werden. Die hochwertigen gebrauchten Büropapiere werden nicht mit geringwertigeren Sorten vermischt, sondern sie bleiben auf ihrem hohen Level. Ein wichtiger Aspekt im Hinblick auf Nachhaltigkeit bei der Verwendung von Altpapier:  die  Produktion von Recyclingpapier erfordert erheblich weniger Wasser und Energie als die Herstellung von Frischfaserpapieren. Bei uns bleibt Papier Papier.

Nachhaltig, angenehmer visueller Eindruck – Recyclingpapier aus Lenzing

Unsere Papiere vereinen Nachhaltigkeit mit hoher Qualität und einer besonderen Haptik. Wir behaupten daher stolz, dass unser Lenzing Papier nicht nur das beste, sondern auch das „weißeste“ Recyclingpapier ist, das auf dem Markt erhältlich ist.

Auch die Lebensdauer unserer nachhaltig produzierten Recyclingpapiere spricht für sich: Recyclingpapiere haben eine Haltbarkeit von rund 100 Jahren.

Ausgezeichnet mit dem „Blauen Engel“

Der Blaue Engel ist das erste Umweltsiegel und wurde 1978 ins Leben gerufen. Anhand strenger Kriterien wird die nachhaltige Produktion von Recyclingpapier überprüft und bewertet. Die Nutzung des Siegels und die Qualität der Produkte werden jährlich überprüft und neu bewertet. Recyclingpapiere, die das Umweltzeichen „Blauer Engel“ besitzen, garantieren Verbrauchern, dass sie ein Produkt aus 100 % Altpapier-Herstellung kaufen.

lenzing-papier-recyclingpapier

Nachhaltige Berichterstattung

Ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Unternehmenskommunikation ist der CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility)-Bericht, der die sozialen und ökologischen Leistungen eines Unternehmens darstellt. Ab 2024 sind laut neuen EU-Verordnungen nun auch börsenotierte KMUs zu Berichten zur Tätigkeit im Nachhaltigkeitsmanagement verpflichtet.

weiterlesen »